The Violin Trilogy

Friday 13 April
8pm - 10pm

L'Orchestre de Chambre de Genève
Joji Hattori (conductor and violin)*
Soyoung Yoon (violin)^
Lu Siqing (violin)º
Estelle Revaz (cello)º

Mozart Violin Concerto No. 1 in B flat, K. 207*
Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1 in D, Op. 19* ^ 
Brahms Double Concerto in A minor, Op. 102* º

From Mozart’s first Violin Concerto, composed when he was a teenager, to Prokofiev’s first Violin Concerto, composed to offer the eminent Polish violinist Paul Kochanski a work which required dazzling technique alongside profound musicality, “Violin Trilogy” spans 150 years of virtuosity. In celebration of the wider strings family, Brahms’ Double Concerto combines both the violin and the cello with orchestra. The work was written for violinist Joseph Joachim and cellist Robert Hausmann who “was in no way inferior to Joachim", according to critic Edward Hanslick; a very believable judgement given the supremely challenging nature of both solo parts!